Testimonials2018-05-08T14:14:48+00:00

Testimonials

Hello, Dr. McManus,

 
I am feeling thankful for the care you and the staff gave me on Tuesday and want to say THANK YOU for seeing me immediately, assessing my symptoms and beginning treatment before I even left your office – I am still feeling that steroid shot in my “gluts” so I know the stuff was definitely going in! 
 
The early shingles diagnosis and therapy made a huge difference!  (Unless a mean old relapse shakes things up,) I am already losing the symptoms rapidly and feeling comfortable again.
 
I appreciate you and your staff for many reasons and have for a long time… this is one more to add to the list!
 
Best,
SR
I feel so blessed to have you as my doctor.

” I feel so blessed to have you as my doctor and REALLY appreciate your passion and commitment – may God bless you for all you do❣️ “- from B.P.

I feel like I turned a corner this last week.

“I’m feeling much better this week. Not near as much pain or nervousness as before and more energy and clarity in my thinking. I actually felt good enough to work on my taxes and get them to the CPA!

My sleep improved dramatically.

Like I said, my pain levels are dramatically down. Not completely of course, but I’ve had 2 muscle relaxers in 5 or 6 days compared to 3 times a day.

I feel like I turned a corner this last week.”

Thanks,

CW

It was life changing!

“About five months ago, I made an appointment with Dr. McManus about some digestive problems I have been having for the last few years.  I thought it was just getting older and there was nothing I could do about it.  Dr. McManus told me about the yeast cleanse, so I thought I would give it a try, not expecting much.  After 10 days on the diet and eating healthier, I had amazing improvements to my digestive system and felt so much better.  It was life changing! I discovered I was sensitive to certain foods and once I eliminated them from my diet, I am so much better.  I don’t have all the cravings and extreme energy swings I used to have either.  I highly recommend this program. It has changed my life for the better!”  – Pat B

I finally feel like I have a Doctor that is my partner in wellness.

I was in bad shape when I made my initial visit to Dr McManus. I had been able to manage my Hashimotos previously so I knew my then-current physicians were not getting at the root of the problem. Dr. McManus has turned me around in a few short months. It’s happening faster than I even thought possible. She has an amazing staff and she is a powerhouse of information and ideas. I finally feel like I have a Doctor that is my partner in wellness. I only wish I had found her earlier in my Thyroid journey, but I am so happy to be here now.

-Kathy S.

I am so glad I found Dr. McManus.

After going to 5 doctors in conventional medicine I finally decided to branch out to functional medicine. I am so glad I found Dr. McManus. She treated each one of my many symptoms which ranged from anxiety, awful reflux, sleep issues, moodiness, but most of all a nerve issue. She set out a detailed plan with diet, supplements and testing. I felt so much better after the diet reset and taking the proper nutrients my body so desperately needed. Dr. McManus’ whole staff is extremely well trained to help you with anything that comes up. I loved the weekly email check-ins while on the diet cleanse. They give you the resources to help you and they really want you to feel your very best.

From Lana P.

Thanks 

Continuing to Stay Strong

Good Morning Dr. McManus,

I thought I would start your morning off with some good news.

T’s health is continuing to stay strong. She made it through the second little bug since the summer – again with no antibiotics or steroids needed to clear the congestion…and no secondary infections. 🙂

Additionally, she is now ranked #3 in the state in women’s pole vault and acing all her senior classes.

R has not deviated a bit from the health reset protocol and has minimum flare ups from his gout. He is down 20 lbs and not slowing down.

Thanks again to your entire team for your program, expertise and support. You and your team are very appreciated and I hope you have a wonderful week!

Liz

Best Decision I Have Made!
I found Dr. McManus through a friend and I’m so glad that I did! My weight was spiraling out of control and I was just miserable! I had a hysterectomy 7 years ago and never really had anyone “manage” my HRT, I needed help. She helped me balance my hormones to help me work on weight loss and it worked! I was finally able to sleep without sleeping pills and my weight started to go down! Dr. McManus and her staff are just amazing! They really helped me in a time when I was just desperate for a change, best decision I have made! Thank you!

-Kristi N.

I feel more like myself
Hi Sandra-

Thank YOU for your continued patience & support with me over the years. After the B-shot, Ondamed treatment yesterday & starting back on supplements Saturday, I’m feeling much better (at least 75% better).  Given how badly I was feeling, it feels miraculous! 🙂

I  feel more like myself today, (with) improved flexibility/mobility/energy.

Thanks!

S.R.

That day changed my life.

I had a complete hysterectomy in my late thirties and the shift in hormones lead to a 75 pound overall weight gain despite “healthy eating” and exercise.  On November 20, 2014, I had met with Dr. McManus regarding my frustration and she suggested a Ketogenic way of eating.  That day changed my life.  After scientific research which educated me on the correct way to follow a nutritional Ketogenic way of eating.  I have continued eating a Ketogenic Diet for over 3 years and have gone from 45+% Body Fat to 25%, with a goal of 20%.  It is a sustainable and maintainable way of eating and has led me to continuing my education as I continue to build muscle and burn fat.  –Lisa A.

I am extremely thankful and grateful

Dr. McManus, because Thanksgiving is upon us, I was thinking about things I am grateful for. Simply put, I am extremely thankful and grateful for you, your staff and the work that you do. The more I interact with you and your staff, the more I appreciate each of you. I am very thankful to God for you. He has used you to bless me and many, many others. You could have done many things with your life and taken many different directions but you used your trials and tribulations to help others instead of wallowing in self pity and bitterness. Thank you also for standing up for the truth. It takes courage to do that especially in the face of criticism. You are a doctor, a woman and a person of principle and that is a blessing to all of us. May God, who is sovereign, merciful, loving, forgiving and just, bless you with every good thing. May He fill you with His wisdom and give you His peace, courage, strength and love all the days of your life. May His light continue to shine through you so that others may see your good works and glorify Him.

Sincerely, J & M

I felt better the first week!

I can’t say enough about Dr. McManus and her awesome staff. I love that you can email or call and ask questions whenever you have a need.
I needed to find something to help me feel better. I was taking antihistamines, meds for acid reflux, have food allergies and seasonal allergies, joint pain with inflammation in my entire body, weight gain and cholesterol medicine. The medicines I was taking were just covering up the symptoms.
I started with the yeast cleanse – I felt better the first week and have continued to feel less pain, reduced acid reflux and just feel better in general. After the yeast cleanse I started on the weight loss program. I’m loosing weight and feel so much better.

Looking forward to a much healthier me!

from L.G.

She has the sparkles back in her eyes!
Hi Dr. McManus –
Just wanted to share some continued good news with T.  She is back conditioning 5 days and week and training with a coach.  No dizzy spells and she is just having normal soreness with good recovery time.
We made it through her usual back to school cold/allergy/sore throat/congestion/cough stuff in less than a week with no ear or sinus infection, antibiotics or steroids.  (HOORAY!)
No complaints of stomach aches in over a month (she is off dairy completely, but still not 100% gluten free).
Even through all the illness and injury last year, she pulled off top 10% of her class and is making it look like a cake walk with all A’s to start this year.
We are so thankful for you and your team. She has the sparkle back in her eyes 🙂
-LT
Within the first week my daughters debilitating GI issues were GONE!!!

from Lynn W.

After 9 months of doctors appointments, multiple tests, co-pays, deductibles, time list from work and school…all with no answers, I took my teenage daughter to Dr. McManus at the suggestion of a friend.  My daughter suffered from chronic diarrhea, abdominal pain and fatigue.  I felt completely frustrated that none of the specialists (including the head of TX Children’s GI deptwere able to figure out what was going on. At the first appointment with Dr McManus she suggested a gluten free diet with a yeast cleanse based on my daughters symptoms.  I knew it would be a challenge based on the typical teenager diet my daughter had been following but out of desperation, we jumped – but not without a parachute.  We had a whole team of support people to help.  Nancy, an amazing nutritionist and Maddie our MA were there to help every step of the way. Within the first week my daughters debilitating GI issues were GONE!!! I can’t say enough about Dr McManus and her wonderful team…my daughter got an education about nutrition and health that will benefit her for the rest of her life.  I feel blessed to have found this amazing practice! Absolutely blessed!

I made a stunning recovery!

from Donna S.

I began treatment with you in June 2008. I was obese, full of candida, thyroid and hormonal imbalance, adrenal fatigue and

was feeling sick and hopeless. Within a few short weeks of following the yeast free protocol and getting the right medication and

supplements, I felt better than I had in decades. My energy returned, my palate changed and I lost 50 pounds. I was actually

eating more food, than when I was shut down and ill. My food was fuel, and my body processed it! I made a stunning recovery, and

had the energy and stamina to lead a busy fulfilling life. I was working in a career that I love, singing and vocal coaching.

In 2010 I was diagnosed and treated for tonsil cancer. Because of your work in building my health and wellness, I was going into treatment

in the best physical condition possible to face the rigorous cancer treatment ahead of me. I was strong, well nourished, and optimistic.

I walked through radiation on two feet, and came out on the other side with a complete cancer free result. I was one of very few

patients with my type of cancer who got through treatment without a feeding tube. I am still singing and training musical theatre artists,

Praise God! The work you do is truly life changing. I am so grateful for your wisdom and insight into diagnosing and treating each individual case.

 

Thank you!

This program is the best thing I've ever done for myself.

from K.H.

The comprehensive wellness program is well worth the investment.  I’m 52 and peri-menopausal. I was experiencing stiffness and joint pain, fluid retention, headaches, low (or zero!) libido, low energy, very high blood pressure and blue moods.  I had gained over 30 lbs in 2 years…regular exercise or dieting didn’t do a thing.  I feared I would slip into depression if I let it go any further.  Out of desperation, I contacted TWIHW.  The 28-day yeast cleanse and the hormone therapy did wonders.  I lost 8 to 9 lbs while on the yeast diet…which is motivating me to stick to the diet as closely as possible so I can continue to lose weight  (it’s not a diet, it’s a life change!)  My joint pain and stiffness are gone, energy is back up, moods are way better, headaches are gone, libido is coming back, fluid retention has decreased a lot and my blood pressure is improving.  Both my husband and I are thrilled…I’m getting my life back!  This program is the best thing I’ve ever done for myself.  Thank you, Dr. McManus!

...reflecting on how far I have come.

“Dr. McManus……I am having one of those days today where I am reflecting on how far I have come. I looked back and realized that my life changed the day I met with you on 2/6/09! You literally changed the course of my life! I was overcome with depression and anxiety and I was walking thru my life in a FOG! YOU changed that all for me and I will forever be grateful.” from D.B.

...your program and staff have changed our health...

Good morning!

Just wanted to drop you a quick note to let you know that I’m doing well, feeling good and staying the course of vitamin regimen, hormone creams and clean eating-down 15 lbs. as a result of the program.

My husband went on the program with me (thankfully) he’s lost 25 lbs.-and feels great. He had a lot of joint pain and congestion-GONE.

We’d like to provide a testimony letter on how your program and staff have changed our health which we have continued to follow as a lifestyle—post 28 day cleanse :–))

We also enjoy the monthly electronic newsletter as there is a plethora of helpful information.

from M.S.

Real patients, real experiences!

From Crawling to Running

from Victoria H.

“Six months ago I literally crawled in to Dr. McManus’ office. I’d suffered for a year with anxiety, weight gain, hair loss and hot flashes. I’d previously seen my obstetrician and she was quick to tell me I was peri-menopausal and prescribed birth control pills. Long story short, they didn’t help and my symptoms continued to torment me. After some online research I stumbled upon Dr. McManus’ bio and immediately called for an appointment. I was quick to be seen and shortly thereafter began the yeast free diet and a vitamin and mineral routine specifically tailored to my needs. I was very hesitant to stop the birth control pill because it had become my “crutch” but the day I stopped, I began bio identical hormones and I’ve never felt better. My energy has returned, my menopause symptoms have diminished and on January 15th I ran the Houston half marathon. I’m now in control of my health and forever grateful to The Woodlands Institute of Health and Wellness.”

You truly are a blessing!

from Debbie

Thank you! You are amazing!! You took a stressed out person who was freaking out about not wanting to take prednisone and you gave me hope in an alternative therapy. You truly are a blessing!! I mean that. Jesus uses you to heal us. You are an answer to my prayers and thank you for the positive and hopeful attitude to my disease. Love you and your lovely staff lots!! Thanks for all you do!!!

Amazingly…the pain is gone!

From G.M.

In 1999 I was diagnosed with cancer.  I went to MD Anderson for treatment and I was in a study.  I received 33% more chemo treatments and there were many side effects that have lasted for more than 17 years, one of which was neuropathy in my feet and toes.  The numbness and tingling was annoying, but two years ago the numbness and tingling turned into pain and burning in my toes, in particular my right big toe.  I couldn’t let the sheets touch my feet and it would often wake me up and I would have to massage my toes before I could go back to sleep.   Dr. McManus suggested I try ONDAMED.  Amazingly, after only 6 sessions, the pain is gone!   That was 6 months ago.  I have not thought about it since!

Sleep apnea gone, lost weight, and energy is great!

Mark W.

I was always tired, snored all the time and was told I would need a CPAP machine. I didn’t want to have to wear the machine so I looked for other alternatives. Thankfully I found out about the HCG diet at TWIHW. When I started your plan I weighed 248lbs and after 22 days I now weigh 217lbs. The transformation I have gone through and the 2 pant sizes I have dropped amazes me and my family. My snoring is gone. I feel alert and more energetic than I have in a long time, even with the restrictive calories. I’m the type of person that likes to see immediate results, and this is it!

…leaving me feeling like my normal self again.

from Stacey R.

After consulting on symptoms associated with perimenopause, Dr. McManus recommended using a progesterone cream as a natural way to balance hormone levels. After using the cream as directed for a couple of months, my irritability and headaches subsided, leaving me feeling like my normal self again.

Her comprehensive knowledge really helped me understand the changes happening and how to address them in subtle ways that really made a difference. I wish more doctors practiced wellness instead of prescribing medications to treat isolated symptoms. If I had taken another doctor’s advice, I would be taking migraine medication that would have done nothing to address my hormone imbalance.

Many thanks to Dr. McManus!!!

Friends are asking about my recent physical transformation

from Diane R.

Friends are asking about my recent physical transformation. I credit Dr. McManus and her staff with giving me the knowledge and resources to accomplish my new life!

My Crohn’s is doing a whole lot better
from Linda M.

Hi Dr McManus.

Your program changed my life. I have been doing so much better. My Crohn’s is doing a whole lot better. My allergies are doing a 100 percent better. Thanks for your help.

IBS is cured!

Anonymous post online:

If you want cutting edge medicine with great results, I highly recommend this doctor. Why do others state having issues related to yeast candida? The answer is simple in that a large number of people have this in varying degrees, with all of the related accompanying health issues. There again, reading can easily confirm this through some research if you are so inclined. And sticking with a smart diet can be difficult for many, as they want good health but aren’t willing to give up Aspartame soft drinks, hormone induced food, or mainstream food with all of the chemical additives. This is a Wellness center, meaning it focuses upon a lifestyle change, where you can remain well for the foreseeable future with the correct lifestyle modifications. Oh, and my list of IBS symptoms vomiting, diarrhea, gas, and constipation are all gone now. Do I take any prescriptions? Nope. And my vitals are now outstanding and my brain is alert along with regular bowel movements. The dietician was wonderful and our meals are excellent. This last week I had a number of ladies standing at the microwave with their processed foods, while I ate organic meat and vegetables; yes, they picked up on the difference. Yes, I do take supplements, and if you do some real due diligence you’ll understand why (i.e. Suzanne Somers writings). My wife’s and daughter’s health are both dramatically improved as well. And I cant remember missing a recent day to illness. So I highly recommend this doctor, facility, and process.

After my thyroidectomy, I suffered from a number of Issues.

from J.A.

After my thyroidectomy, I suffered from a number of issues including foggy thinking, lack of energy and general malaise. I had seen a number of physicians who could not seem to help me with these symptoms. I then found Dr. McManus. She took the time to listen to me and to understand my problems. She then readjusted my thyroid therapy and discovered a few other issues. Through her integrative medicine approach, I feeling better than I have felt in years. I can recommend Dr. McManus to anyone who feels stuck in the traditional medical system.

The diet was challenging, but after only a few days she started to feel better.

Testimonial From M.K.

At the age of 11 my daughter was diagnosed with Sensory Processing Disorder. We found a great occupational therapist who helped with many symptoms, but she was adamant that there were underlying gut issues that needed to be addressed. We tried several diets on our own, but nothing seemed to work. Meanwhile, my daughter’s anxiety worsened as she tried to eat healthier. She found it so hard to concentrate and her schoolwork suffered and she became “out of character” moody. I began to realize I could not help her on my own, and that is when I enrolled her in the Teen Wellness Program at The Woodlands Institute for Health and Wellness. The diet was challenging, but after only a few days she started to feel better. After her blood work was completed we discovered she had a lot of food allergies, a few vitamin deficiencies, MTHFR mutations, and the infamous “leaky gut” syndrome. She was given an individualized vitamin protocol and continued to get better throughout her treatment. It has been one month since her yeast cleanse, and I can honestly say my daughter is happy again and her anxiety is much less. She is excited to see her long hair is stronger and breaking less and her acne is beginning to clear up. She is able to focus more and it shows in her schoolwork, which she insists is much easier now. She is more energetic and is much more relaxed overall. These are such dramatic and obvious changes that there is no mistaking that it is the result of following this program. I would tell any parent with a teen with anxiety, ADD, or SPD to try this program. Thank you Dr. McManus and all of your staff for listening to our concerns, treating my daughter as an individual, and providing us with empowering information about my daughter’s health so she can now achieve wellness!

Take a minute to watch how TWIHW has changed this patient’s health for the better!

The treatments I received over the course of just 2 weeks has changed my life...

Dr. McManus,

I’m certain when you considered purchasing the PEMF device that you were certain it could help your patients with various conditions, but were you prepared for not just helping but changing lives?  The treatments I received over the course of just 2 weeks has changed my life from one of constant pain and sleepless nights to 98% pain free and sleeping soundly!  I have had tendonitis in my left elbow and numbness in two of my fingers with 70% nerve conduction loss for over a year.    I am a medical professional, so I have tried months of NSAIDS, 30 days of continuous steroids and 3 steroid injections to try to relieve the pain to no avail. I finally had surgery in July and it did not work.  I had another surgery this past December, but it left my left elbow with hyper-sensitivity due to the relocation of the nerve.  I could not touch the inside of my left elbow, nor even have the sheets rub against it at night because it would cause severe pain.  I decided to try your PEMF therapy but was completely skeptical that such a device would do ANYTHING, but what was there to lose.  Well, to my amazement, after the first treatment, I could actually touch the area around my scar.  I couldn’t believe the machine had worked.  Now, after 2 weeks of treatment, I can not only touch the skin around the incision, but I can touch the incision and rub the scar to release adhesions.  I can wear my long sleeves without any pain.  Better yet, I can sleep!!  I want to thank you for thinking outside the box and doing your research to stay on top of what is out there to better the lives of your patients.  You and your staff have made such a difference in the quality of my life.  I will forever be grateful because I had just made up my mind I would live in discomfort forever and then you introduced me to ONDAMED.  I am recommending this treatment to all my friends who have a variety of issues, not just pain.  Additionally, on more than one occasion, the machine indicated I was having issues elsewhere before I ever mentioned anything to you that I was in fact having issues in that particular area.  This treatment works and it works well!  Again, thank you for staying vigilant.

SH

I'm 100% Better

from Barbara W.

When I came to The Woodlands Institute for Health and Wellness one year ago, I had so many issues that I was weary, tired, and skeptical that the wellness program could make a difference. Some of my problems included chronic fatigue, joint pain, headaches, irritability, eczema, loss of endurance, moodiness, hopelessness, foggy, cravings, weight gain, sluggishness, loss of interest, low energy, inability to fall asleep/stay asleep, frequent colds/allergy symptoms, anxious, thyroid nodules, constipation, diarrhea, stomach issues, and more. Because traditional treatment and medicine previously prescribed by physicians had failed me, I was very skeptical and most cynical that I would never get relief. Dr. McManus prescribed a plan specific to my needs, and she listened to me very intently, addressing each issue brought forth during our visit. Instead of giving me a prescribed medication, she gave me explanations, choices, education, recommendation, tools, instruction, and hope. Today, one year later, I am sleeping well, energetic, mentally alert, happy, and I have not had any exacerbation of colds, flu, allergies, or eczema. My joint pain left within two weeks of my initial visit and has not returned. I eat a clean healthy yeast free diet, so my gut is symptom free. My thyroid function is much improved. The support team and coaching is an awesome experience at The Woodlands Institute for Health and Wellness. I felt compelled to share my testimony to help someone else that may be feeling hopeless. I can truly say that I am happy that I made the decision one year ago. I am 100% better.

I was complete wreck!

I wanted to take a few minutes to tell you the physical state that I was in before meeting Dr. McManus. I was housebound and incapacitated from working an 8-5 job or any job for that matter. I was on numerous medications and was suffering from so many things such as low thyroid, no hormones replaced in my body from a complete hysterectomy 4 years earlier. To put it short, I was a complete wreck. It took a little bit of time (because I was so complicated) but in 6 months I saw a great difference. Within the year, I was feeling 85% better and I went out and found a full time job 8-5 which is what I wanted, and have been working ever since.

Thank you Dr. McManus for helping me to feel so much better today than I was 8 years ago.

Mrs. MN

I’m feeling great and want to keep that going … thank goodness I have YOU!

Hi Dr. M,

Great trip to Houston last week and sincerely enjoyed having time to meet with you to discuss my wellness plan for the upcoming year.  I truly appreciate being a patient of yours and all your valuable advice.  I’m feeling great and want to keep that going … thank goodness I have YOU!  You also may be seeing two dear friends of mine that live in the Houston area.  They asked me a ton of questions about what I was doing with you and how I was looking and feeling so good.

Also, thanks for the GAPS book suggestion.  Read it all the way home on the plane, and am learning a lot about gut health.  Really finding it helpful with my two kids that have ADHD and a cousin recently diagnosed as bi-polar.

Again, thank you for everything.  I’ll look forward to my trip down next year to touch base with you.

Take care! Mrs. S.S.

I was suffering with PMS symptoms for a long time.

I was suffering with PMS symptoms for a long time. Mood swings, irritability, headaches, fatigue, etc. These symptoms were ruling my life and I had low energy for years. In September 2015 I started the wellness program with TWIHW. With their comprehensive treatment plan including yeast cleanse and hormones and supplement support, my life is SO much better. As I am following a vegetarian diet, they customized my treatment plan accordingly. No more PMS symptoms and my energy level is very much improved.  I truly feel like I got a new life! Thanks so much team TWIHW. – HM

......I am able to eat again!

After seven years of visiting countless doctors with my food allergies, I came to The Woodlands Institute. When I started here I was already reacting to almost every type of food, thus only eating rice and a few vegetables.

Curing the root of the problem was Dr. McManus’s goal, therefore I was diagnosed with adrenal fatigue and a leaky gut. We started balancing my body with supplements and enzymes. After that, we continued with the protocol of the Yeast Cleanse, along with Bone Broth. To my great amazement, when introducing these new food groups to my body, my allergic reactions were very minimal. I regained my energy, concentration, enthusiasm, and my sleep has improved considerably.

Honestly, I was afraid that I would die if I started consuming these foods. However, I received the support and encouragement that I needed from the clinical staff while I began changing my eating habits.

Finally after all these years of searching, I found a clinic that focused on healing the root of my food allergies and I am able to eat again! They really do cure people here, and they do a magnificent job while they are curing! I want to thank all the medical staff of The Woodlands Institute for all of their professional and caring support.

From G. R.

...my teen still had problems...

My teenage daughter is a very happy patient of The Woodland’s Institute for Health and Wellness. My family had already made a few diet changes at our home and were all noticing positive differences but my teen still had problems with rashes, moods, sleep, and focus. First, my teen stopped being confused and stressed over school work and sports 2 weeks into the yeast cleanse. She always did well in school and sports but it seemed to be more of a stressful struggle. Now she laughs more, feels better, smiles a lot, moods are great, less fatigued, and is doing better in sports and school than ever before. And the rash has disappeared. Weekly complaints of joint pain are no more. My entire family is very grateful for these amazing changes, all made possible by the wonderful team and nutritionist at The Woodland’s Institute for health and wellness. You guys are amazing!!

from D.W.

My health has improved so much with their innovative treatments...

Praises and gratitude for Dr. McManus and her staff! I’ve been seeing them for 2-3 years now and can only rave about the outstanding job they do @ TWIHW! There’s such a Positive Energy in their facility from the moment you walk in the door – everyone’s smiling, friendly, competent AND they actually see you on time… The list goes on and on!

My health has improved so much with their innovative treatments (I’ve seen many doctors for over 20 years without similar results) – I used to have 2-3 migraines per week, and have now had only 2 in the last 7 months! In addition, my decades long insomnia issues are improving; not only have I been able to cut my sleep medication by more than half, the number of hours of good sleep has doubled (as measured by my FitBit, + finally feeling refreshed in the mornings instead of that awful fatigue).

Fibromyalgia pain has also diminished under Dr. McManus’s care & my food sensitivities continue to improve – what more can I say? I look forward to my appointments with Dr. McManus – both to see everybody (they’re like a cool family) and to share how much better I’m doing! Truly they are some of God’s helpers here on Earth – what a Blessing!!! Eternal gratitude – Thanks you guys!!!

From Marti R.

His quality of life is so much better...
My son, CJD, now 13 years old, has had a remarkable improvement in his health through the yeast cleanse, sub-lingual allergy drops (A-drops), and supplements that you prescribed.  Before coming to you, he suffered with severe allergies, asthma, eczema and constipation.  As a baby and a young child, he was so sick and seemed to get worse with age and more traditional medical treatments.  After 3 weeks of the yeast cleanse, the scabs and wounds, from scratching his skin until he would bleed from the eczema, completely disappeared and have not returned.  He has not missed but one or two days of school due to illness this past school year, and his allergic reactions are fewer and not as severe as before the cleanse and the A-drops.  His quality of life is so much better thanks to the treatment plan recommended by you.

Many thanks,

Laurie D.

I lost 33lbs in 40 days!

I lost 33lbs in 40 days! I’ve struggled with committing to diets in the past and with the support, structure, meal options, and counseling from the staff at TWIHW my confidence was boosted and my expectations were exceeded. Very satisfied with the results and already signed up for a 2nd round!

from T. M. regarding her HCG program

...this was a decision I labored over for several months after I stumbled upon the website,

Debbie W.

When I decided to try out the Wellness clinic (this was a decision I labored over for several months after I stumbled upon the website), I was very skeptical and truly didn’t have any expectations of feeling better.  Since moving to Texas (about 2 ½ years ago), I had visited 2 separate doctors over the care of my thyroid and even involved my gynecologist with these issues.  The first doctor was a family practitioner that just kept me on the same dose of medicine and barely had time to speak with me during my visits.  I was feeling like my thyroid medicine needed to be altered because I was beginning to feel much the same way I did 11 years ago when I was first diagnosed with Hashimoto’s Disease.  I decided to switch to an internal medicine doctor.  I told him how I was feeling and told him how much I exercised but my energy level was still very low and everything was becoming more of a struggle. He kept my medicine the same and prescribed me diet pills (yes you read that right) to help me lose weight.  Uh, that’s not what I was complaining about, I was complaining about low energy and how hard it was to exercise and no matter what I did it seemed my weight stayed the same.  I was a little offended but he’s the one that went to medical school so I filled it and used them.  They obviously didn’t help at all except now I had to remind myself to eat because I wasn’t hungry.  I should add that throughout all this I considered myself quite healthy (I ran 4-6 times a week) and I ate healthy based on what I knew. I ate cooked oatmeal or eggs every morning, I didn’t eat processed food, no fast food, I ate lean cuts of meat and I ate vegetables.  People at work would tease me about how healthy I ate.  I should also mention that every time I was at the doctor, along with the low energy I told every one of them I was constantly bloated, had more gas than the normal person and just overall didn’t feel well.  Also, a full year prior to visiting the wellness center I was suffering from a recurring yeast infection (yeah, that’s right, disgusting and miserable).  My gynecologist kept prescribing me Fluconazole and stressing probiotics and even douching with a hydrogen peroxide mixture.  I would take the medicine and within 2 weeks of finishing it was back.  I was sure I had some horrible disease.  One time I even was on that medicine for a month (how could that not work) and it was back.  My insurance company even called my doctor over the amount of times it was prescribed for me.  My doctor was clearly frustrated and assumed I wasn’t following his direction regarding the probiotics, but I was following his instructions to the letter.  I asked for any advice on getting relief he could offer and he was stumped.  I finally just settled with the idea that I was going to have to suffer with the infection as well as all the other symptoms and worked on finding a way to deal with it.  I was at this point that I decided to make the appointment at The Woodlands Institute.  The hardest part was spending the money without having the faith it would work.  My husband was skeptical as well, his thinking was why spend money to go to a doctor when you have insurance, just go the regular doctor and get a pill (ok, been there done that and it didn’t work).  Well, my first visit was interesting, everyone there had a positive energy which I admit was infectious so I developed a glimmer of hope.  When I met Dr. McManus, I instantly liked her.  I resolved myself to commit 100% to her instructions (otherwise it would be a waste of money).  I then met with the nutritionist, I didn’t’ feel I needed to because after all I was already a healthy eater and I’m a voracious reader of health magazines and articles, but I was 100% committed.  Oh my goodness that was the most impactful part of this process for me.  I may have been a relatively healthy eater based on today’s standards, but I was NOT eating properly for my body.  I learned so much.  To make a long story shorter (because I could go on forever about what I learned), I followed the program to the letter, I feel GREAT, the yeast infection is GONE (after a year, imagine my JOY), and my allergy symptoms are gone.  I forgot to mention I’ve been a lifelong sufferer of allergies, to the point that I did allergy shots for 5 years when I lived in Seattle because they were so severe.  Moving to Houston they came back a little, not to the same degree but I was taking medicine fairly regularly.  Since starting the program I have not taken one allergy pill, my sinuses just continue to get more clear all the time, I don’t use nasal spray anymore, my skin has cleared up (I had minor trouble with it before – related to my cycle or so I thought but haven’t had any trouble since).  I could go on and on, my dizzy spells that I experienced pretty much multiple times each morning are gone and I just feel so good!   I honestly didn’t ever expect to feel this great, I truly feel like I have the energy I had in high school.  I literally just told a co-worker that the other day and I’m going to be 47 years old this month.  I did a follow up appointment with the nutritionist (I actually looked forward to it this time hungry for any knowledge I could get from her – far different that my attitude going into the first appointment) and I learned even more about myself.  I truly can’t speak highly enough about this experience and how life changing it has been and will continue to be.  If you are reading this and feel skeptical or on the fence about it, consider how skeptical I was and how my life has been changed. You guys do GREAT work!!!  It has to be so rewarding knowing you make such positive changes in lives.  Thanks for all your investment of time in me!

I really had no idea how much my body was hurting because of my eating habits.

Testimonial from Dan G.

In December of 2012, I passed out while taking an antibiotic. I had multiple medical tests done: EEG, stress sonogram of heart, sonogram of the carotid arteries, and a 24-hour EKG monitoring. The 24-hour monitor picked up SVT (Supra Ventricular Tachycardia) and was put on blood pressure medicine. Side effects of this antibiotic include syncope and irregular heartbeat. On November 17th 2014 while eating lunch I passed out again and spent the night in the hospital for observation. Even more tests where done: sonogram of abdominal arteries, CT scan of the chest with contrast, implanted a heart monitor loop recorder, nuclear stress test. All tests came back normal but I was becoming so dizzy I couldn’t drive or concentrate any more. In early December I went to the Emergency Room because I was feeling so poorly. They found nothing and thought I was receiving great care from the GP and Cardiologist. Every time I went to a doctor’s appointment I was losing weight. Just before Christmas, I tried an adrenal supplement and after 2 days some of the dizziness started to get better. I told my GP that this supplement had started to make me feel better. His comment was “knock yourself out”. It was time to find a new doctor because he didn’t know what else to do. So I made an appointment with Dr. McManus. After reviewing my medical history, she started me on a full yeast cleanse, some supplements, and hormones to support my adrenals. The blood work she ordered revealed elevated sugar, Albumin, and ferritin levels, and more tests revealed that I have hereditary Hemochromatosis. If she had not ordered that ferritin test my liver, heart, and kidneys would have eventually been damaged. My yeast cleanse went for seven weeks and I feel great. The third week I had a lot of yeast die-off symptoms. At that point the sinuses started to clear up and the dizziness started to go away. The dizziness is almost completely gone and is getting better each week. Joint pain has disappeared, that jog to the mailbox in the rain or running up the stairs doesn’t hurt the knees or back anymore. Went walking 4 miles in an hour and had no sore joints or stiff muscles the next day like usual. I don’t feel stiff in the morning when I wake up anymore. I really had no idea how much my body was hurting because of my eating habits. We were out with the family recently and I had a meat lover’s pizza at a local chain which was a mistake. Within 2 hours I had a bad headache. Dr. McManus’s approach to cleaning out the body and changing the diet has me convinced. I don’t want to go back to the way I used to feel. It’s not hard to change your diet with a little diligence and planning. I’m looking forward to the next round of blood tests and having everything in the normal range.

I am excited about doing things...

I am a 83 year old male retired from two career fields. After 24 years of service in the Army, I retired being a very active, energetic, and healthy 40 year old easily running 5 miles a day. My second career as an insurance underwriter found me sitting behind a desk 8 to 14 hours a day with little physical activity. My weight went from a trim 145 pounds to a fat 185 pounds in a short period due to the popular office diet – McDonand’s, Jack In The Box and Whataburger.

When I retired the last time in the summer of 1994, my poor food choices caught up with me in 2006 in the form of a stroke. I was 75 years old and my life went down hill from there. Weeks of physical and occupational rehabilitation helped get my strength and mobility back. I went from taking no drugs to seven drugs a day that did not help. I developed constant stomach pain, severe depression and chronic fatigue. Gas, bloating, daily heartburn and constant constipation kept me in bed all day. For a whole year I was so bad that I cancelled several rehab and doctor appointments. My family doctor tried everything, sending me to many specialists and having several tests performed. All tests and blood work came back in the normal range. There is nothing wrong with me. My doctors tried all kinds of drugs on me. Some made me very ill and hallucinate. After several years, I finally told my family doctor that the life I now have is not living. He put me on an antidepressant drug. When that did not work, he prescribed another antidepressant drug to work with the first one. The two made me what I describe as goofy, finding myself in places and very confused as to why I was there.

My daughter researched the internet and found The Woodlands Institute For Health and Wellness, founded by Dr. McManus, the best thing that has happened to me in years. I have been on the yeast free diet and supplements over a month now, eliminated three of my drugs and working on one more. My brain fog, constipation, constant heartburn and stomach pain are history. I am able to get up, shower, shave, shampoo and dress at one time without needing to go back to bed before finishing. For the first time in many years, I am excited about doing things and look forward to being back to my better than normal self.

I have no words to describe my gratitude to Dr. McManus and her superior staff. Please accept a well done from an “old” soldier.

Bob

Postpartum Depression

After battling postpartum depression for the last 3 years I am finally feeling more like myself. I can attest to the yeast cleanse, adding supplements, bio-identical hormone therapy, and diet changes to recovering from my severe depression, ADD symptoms, and low energy. Thank you to Dr. McManus, Nancy & the team. -Veronica

Yeast Cleanse? NO WAY! Not happening.

I was NOT going to follow the yeast cleanse diet.  I thought it was completely absurd and unrealistic.  Besides, I was already eating pretty clean.  I tried to get out of it.  I was willing to do everything else.   Just not the diet.  Once I met with the nutritionist I was intrigued and thought why not try it.    I was so tired of feeling bad. Week one was pretty easy once I figured everything out.  Week two was TOUGH!!! But once I hit week three I never looked back.  I feel amazing.  My stomach has not hurt at all.  It was hurting all the time.  I felt bloated more days than I did not. Amazingly issues went away that I never expected to be related to food.  I felt like I haven’t felt in years.  I had been wearing a boot for foot pain off and on for months.  A friend of mine who is a physical therapist said, “you need to cut sugar out of your diet.  It’s inflamed.”  I laughed at her and told her that was crazy.  I walked in Dr. McManus’ office with that same boot on.  By week three I had zero foot pain. That is right I said zero foot pain.  No throbbing at night when I lie down. No pain wearing flip flops.  I couldn’t believe it.  They were right.  I am so glad they convinced me to try it.  You have nothing to lose.  I am staying on the diet for life!  Nothing I have eaten is worth going back to how I used to feel.  Every time I am tempted I ask myself “Is it really worth feeling bad?”   99%of the time it is not.

Do the yeast cleanse.  You won’t regret it!

Susie S.

Misdiagnosed as having Rheumatoid Arthritis

7 years ago, mere weeks after the birth of my son, Doctors shared the news of a dreaded diagnosis of an Autoimmune Disease called Rheumatoid Arthritis. That was the reason that I could no longer type a sentence on a keyboard or worse…button my 3 week old baby’s onesie!  I would now have take a series of toxic and debilitating medications for the rest of my life?

No, I met Dr. McManus. I was recommended to seek a third referral from a Holistic Doctor who didn’t believe in treating the symptoms through medication, but rather diagnosing and treating the root cause!

Dr. McManus, convinced I did not have RA, put me on a Yeast Cleanse and my life was forever changed! Indeed, I did not have RA, rather was a victim of my own lifestyle. New diagnosis: Food Allergies?!  I believed I was relatively healthy…exercised a lot and ate “right”. What I learned from Dr. McManus and her incredible Staff was an invaluable way of accomplishing overall great health through “varied” nutrition, supplements and hormone balance.

7 years ago I was given a bleak (and inaccurate) diagnosis by traditional doctors that would have cost me a fortune in unnecessary medications with terrible side effects. Today I am happy and healthy and forever grateful that I sought that “third” opinion from a Doctor who truly cares about her patients!

THANK YOU, Dr. McManus, I am forever indebted!

Michelle

More Energy Than I've Had In Years

Dr. McManus,

I saw you for the first time on Monday and started implementing the plan (supplements/hormones) on Tuesday after the lab work. By Saturday, I had way more energy than I’ve had in YEARS, and I could focus and think of words. It’s been awesome! I can hardly wait for The Pellet. 🙂

I started the Yeast Detox yesterday. Nancy is right:  you have to plan, plan, plan — which I was finally able to do since I had energy & could focus. 🙂

I can’t imagine how much better I’ll feel by the end of August…..I’m sure my husband will also be thrilled.

Thank you!

D.T.

Depression testimonial

from J.M.

You were right, and after doing some serious thinking, I’m mad at a lot of doctors. I feel better than I have felt in my whole life, I think due to the diet, supplements, and testosterone injections. I was in bed for 30 years with double depression. In and out of institutions for years. I’m down to 10mg on the Celexa and 750 on the Depakote.  If this keeps up, I’m thinking about writing a book, really!

“The missing link”- already have the name picked out. I always was depressed even as a young very sick child. Doctors gave me shots and antibiotics since the day I was born. And never stopped!

I feel great but somewhat confused because I don’t know what normal feels like.

God bless and God speed…

Overcoming Depression Testimonial

by Mila McManus MD

As I was my first wellness patient, and depression was one of my many issues, I thought it would be appropriate to share my story this month since this newsletter focuses on depression.

I remember feeling depressed when I was in high school, but seemed mostly situational. College years were good, but developed anxiety. Two yrs into medical school, life was rough. I was exhausted and emotional and anxious all the time. I started on antidepressants and boy did it help a lot.  I went from a lot of emotion to NO emotion. It helped anxiety as well.  I craved carbs terribly and continued to have issues with insomnia which I first noticed in my early teens.  I also had issues with terrible allergies, constipation, headaches, PMS, reflux, high blood pressure, unexplained 80 lb weight gain over a 5 year period, and eczema, just to name a few.

OK, so in retrospect, I had severe adrenal fatigue, low thyroid function, I was riddled with yeast, and was nutritionally bankrupt.  Keep in mind that my labs were ALWAYS perfectly normal (so it had to be all in my head, right?). Over the years I tried several times to wean my antidepressant to no avail.  Of course now I know that it’s because I wasn’t addressing the underlying causes of my depression and anxiety in the first place.  Skip ahead to my first year in private practice as a family physician.  I’ve now accumulated 12 prescription medications and I’m 30 years old, going on 90. I lived on diet soda and fast food. Nobody taught me in medical school that it wasn’t healthy to eat that way.  Seriously!

Thank Goodness I found wellness, which is everything we doctors don’t learn in medical school.  I was able to discover that the underlying causes of my depression and anxiety were due to nutritional deficiencies, abnormal gut flora, hormonal imbalance, and having toxic overload. Within 2 weeks of starting bio-identical hormones, changing my diet, and taking a handful of vitamins, I was well on my way to shedding all 12 of my medications.  It did take about 6 months, but my antidepressant was the first to go.

I often wonder where I would be today, almost 11 years later, if I had not found wellness.  My story is unfortunately a very common one, and I hope reading this story gives you hope.  I feel so blessed every day that I get to pay it forward by helping other people overcome what ails them!

Ulcerative Colitis
by Heather B.
In May of 2012 I was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitis. My first flare, I was told, was worse than my doctors had seen and I was unable to control it with oral medication so I wound up in the hospital for 19 days, after which I was still in the midst of a flare but it was more or less under control and I was sent home with a variety of medications. In the meantime, my husband, mother, and I began researching more natural ways to help heal my body from this ravaging disease that I was told was incurable. Throughout this whole ordeal I was covered by the prayers of many family members and friends and was praying myself for wisdom, guidance and direction from the Lord. Over time I became aware of the GAPS diet; however, I found that navigating my way through the GAPS diet was difficult and I began to experience flare-ups as I tapered down on my medication. As a result, my husband and I felt that the guidance of a qualified practitioner was greatly needed. Thankfully, I found The Woodlands Institute for Health and Wellness in June of 2013 and called to inquire about their services. My husband and I were treated like royalty by the staff from the very first moment.
I could tell that the staff and Dr. McManus herself cared deeply for their patients and desired to help them in any way they could. I was impressed and took great comfort in the fact that she addressed my disease, which had scared other practitioners away from me in the past, with such confidence. She analyzed my nutritional status and overall health by having blood and other tests run and worked up a detailed protocol for me that has worked wonders for my health! Under her care I was able to transition from the GAPS diet to a hybrid between the yeast-free diet and the GAPS diet and find that the meals I am having are very satisfying and quite delicious! I am also so grateful in that she was the first doctor to wisely recommend having a bone density test done because one side effect of the medication that I was on was bone loss. I was shocked to find out that I had osteoporosis and she quickly began to address that issue as well with supplements and hormone therapy and in just a matter of months my bone density improved. Her practice is truly holistic in that they also address things like anxiety and stress that contribute to poor health. I find that the staff at TWIHW is very knowledgeable and caring, two qualities that are essential in good medical practitioners. I have learned so much and have felt better overall than I have in years! In fact, I can’t remember when I had such energy and enthusiasm for life! In short, I feel so blessed to have been introduced to Dr. McManus and her staff. They are without a doubt God’s provision for me and it is such a comfort to know that I am in good Hands!
Christmas came early

Christmas came early for me … November 21st, to be precise. That was the day I walked through the doors of The Woodlands Institute for Health and Wellness and met Dr. Mila McManus and her staff. After struggling for many years with chronic illness, I was at the end of hope. I had sought out both conventional and alternative medical doctors – none of whom seemed to get to the root issues, thus leaving me in a web of frustration; exhausted by illness and desperation. A friend mentioned Dr. McManus and I decided to dive in one more time. Well, although it has only been 9 weeks, things have already started to turn around. The issues and symptoms are too vast to mention here, but Dr. McManus left no stone unturned – she and her staff looked at past records, did a most-thorough interview and took bloodwork. I left her office that first day with an integral protocol – one like I have not seen before. The expertise, passion and availability of both Dr. McManus and her staff are impressive. I am happy to say I am having much success and am so very excited about my future of health!

Beth P.

Once a skeptic

I cannot say enough good things about the Woodlands Institute for Health and Wellness [TWIHW]. I became a patient in the latter part of 2013 because conventional medicine had failed me. I was skeptical to say the least – the myriad of doctors I’d already seen hadn’t been able to help so what was going to be different at TWIHW, other than this time I was paying for it out of pocket?

I presented with chronic migraines, back and neck pain, thyroid issues, adrenal fatigue, and intestinal problems.  Following the yeast free diet plan and the specially formulated vitamin regime I noticed a huge improvement in my symptoms. The only lingering issue I am dealing with is continuing migraines, but even they have decreased in both frequency and severity!

If I had only known about how much more successful I was going to be with purely a change in diet and the addition of vitamins and nutrients my body was lacking in, I would have gone to TWIHW several years ago. Instead I went from one doctor to the next, blindly trusting that they knew what they were doing.

If you are like me and feel that you are at your wit’s end, riddled with pain and frustration, I thoroughly recommend you give TWIHW an opportunity to address your issues. You will not be disappointed.

Yours very truly,
Claire M.

Patient Testimonial

I wanted to share my really good news with you.  It may not seem like much to others, but it is a major milestone for me. I just got sick, but then I got well again without going to the doctor and without getting any drugs!  I started running a low-grade fever and had chills and aches and pains on Saturday.  By Sunday, my fever was 99.5.  However, as of today, Thursday, my fever is completely gone and I feel fine.

Contrast this with last May.  I caught a cold and began running a low-grade fever.  My nose started running and my asthma kicked in.  I went to my primary care physician, who told me it was just a cold and to continue going to work but get plenty of rest.  A week later, I went back with fever over 100, and I was really having trouble breathing.  He gave me antibiotics and prednisone and a chest x-ray.  It turns out I not only had a full-blown asthma attack, but I also had pneumonia!

This is the first time I can remember where I got well again on my own.  Thinking back over the years, it’s been at least 10 or 20 years that every time I catch a cold and a fever, my nose starts running and I end up in the doctor’s office getting prednisone and antibiotics for my asthma.  Once about two years ago, I even ended up in IMU overnight because they couldn’t stabilize me.  That’s on top of the Flonase and Advair that I take every day plus the Albuterol I take for emergencies.

Thank you for helping me!  I truly think you have saved my life.  You have definitely prolonged it and increased my quality of life.  Now, I just need to stay on track permanently and continue to stay healthy without asthma attacks, pneumonia, antibiotics, and prednisone.

I am celebrating today!  Hooray!

Karen B.

Another Amazing Patient Testimonial

For several years, I’d been experiencing increasingly severe auto-immune symptoms: I have had Raynaud’s syndrome for years, but it was worse than ever, I broke out in hives for seemingly no reason (there was a period of two weeks when I could only eat white rice and drink water, because anything else made me break out), I was constantly exhausted, and my migraines were getting more and more frequent. Every doctor I went to in Houston – supposedly some of the best rheumatologists, gastro-intestinal specialists, and endocrinologists in the world – looked at lab tests they performed on me, told me my blood tests were fine, and sent me home.

I was at my wit’s end. I was in grad school, and my parents and I were seriously discussing whether I would be able to hold down a job after graduation (and whether I was going to be able to graduate, which I thankfully did, partly because of my professors’ generosity and understanding). While searching the internet, I found Dr. McManus’s information, and decided to make an appointment. When I told my OB-GYN, she looked at me skeptically and warned me against going to “quacks.” (She was one of the many doctors who told me my blood tests were fine and implied that it was all in my head. She’s no longer my OB-GYN, of course).

I met with one of Dr. McManus’s providers who immediately diagnosed me with a candida infection. I’d heard of candida infections (essentially, a fungal infection of the gut, typically the result of over-use of antibiotics and a starchy diet), and my brother-in-law had done some research and suggested that candida might be my problem. Two weeks later, I started treatment for the candida infection.

After 6 weeks of treatment (a combination of diet and prescription anti-fungals, with some nutritional supplements and probiotics), I was 100% better. Before treatment, I’d have been lucky to be able to walk 1/2 mile without having to stop for rest. I had an unhealthy pallor – when I didn’t have hives – and was exhausted by sitting up for too long. A couple of weeks ago, I clocked my most recent walk: 4 miles. I CAN WALK FOUR MILES, NOW! That might not seem like a big deal to anyone else, but for me, it’s a huge victory.

Treatment for my infection officially ended in April, but I still follow the dietary and nutritional protocol Dr. McManus prescribed – I don’t want to get candida again! Unlike most modern doctors, Dr. McManus doesn’t just look at one part of your body – the digestive system, or the immune system – but at how all of those systems work together as a whole. She understands that anything you eat and drink is going to have an effect on the way ALL of your body’s systems perform because your body’s systems are intrinsically interconnected. Dr. McManus’s staff is incredibly helpful and caring – I had multiple email check-ups each week with my consulting nurse to monitor things like my hormone levels (which were erratic because of the trauma my body had undergone from the infection), my appetite, and my energy level. If something wasn’t improving – like my B12 levels and my energy – ZIP! out came a package of B12 drops I could take throughout the day to supplement my diet.

A side note: Dr. McManus doesn’t process insurance, but I was able to file with my insurance company and get some of the payments back. I was fortunate in that I had some student loans and some VERY generous and concerned parents who helped me out, because the treatment wasn’t cheap. It was totally worth it, though, as I’d spent more than the cost of treatment with Dr. McManus going to “traditional” doctors who kept telling me nothing was wrong with me.

Megan R.

Dr. McManus gave me back my sense of Well-Being

Thankfully I have always been physically active. A long time ago I realized that exercise & eating healthfully are the keys to longevity.  As a single mom of three young boys I thought I did a fairly good job of balancing home & career.  Unfortunately, life happens & over the last few years my stress levels have gone through the roof.  I was plagued by sleepless nights & paralyzing anxiety & although I maintained a steady level of physical activity & what I thought was a healthy diet based on the American Food Pyramid, something began to change in me.  My joints started to ache.  I became extremely fatigued from not having restful sleep. I began to lose my drive, focus & would find myself becoming forgetful.  I was “brain fogged” so to speak & would become increasingly frustrated when I couldn’t give my full attention to the task at hand.  It was a vicious spiral of stress in which I could feel my general health & feelings of peace & well-being very gradually slipping away & being replaced with acute joint pain, depression & exhaustion.

From the advice of a good friend, I became a patient of Dr. McManus & The Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness.  One of the first things I learned was how important a healthy gut is to our overall health & how the continued use of antibiotics & some prescription medicines leads to an overabundance of yeast overgrowth in our intestines.  This opportunistic growth blocks absorption of vitamins & minerals causing nutritional deficiencies.  It also allows toxins to seep into our blood stream, brain & nervous system causing a plethora of disorders.

I immediately began a “Yeast Cleanse” abstaining from grain, dairy, sugar & alcohol for 28 days.  I had lab work done.  I met with their amazing nutritionist Nancy for a consultation & found out the American Food Pyramid heavily saturated with grains is actually not so healthy after all.  I also started a strong regimen of supplements & bio-identical hormones custom targeted to meet my individual needs. Within 10 days I began to see & feel a noticeable difference.  My joint pain began to dissipate.  I was able to run a full marathon mid cleanse and my energy was and continues to be amazing.

I have been a patient now for 6 months & it is incredible to me how much better I feel.  The difference is absolutely amazing.  I have a renewed sense of energy, more than enough to get me through my long days. My cravings for sugar & carbs such as bread have decreased & I am making much more educated choices in purchasing nutritious & wholesome food for my family.   The pain that I was experiencing in my joints is completely gone.  I am sleeping soundly through the night & my anxiety is now thankfully under control.

Thank you so much Dr. McManus and staff for restoring my sense of overall health & well-being.  I am so happy to be a patient of The Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness.  You made a difference in my life.  My respect for you and what you do daily to make your patients’ overall health and quality of life better is immense.

Caroline

I am a Healthier me, all because you educated and I listened.

I have been a patient of Dr. McManus for over two years now, and I have never felt better.   I originally went to a Lunch and Learn as a skeptic, but decided to give it a try.  The best money I ever spent.  I have never felt better in my life, I have more energy and overall good health.  My daughter next decided to travel from Austin to go through their program. Neither of us went for weight loss, but for health and nutrition primarily.  After following their protocol, the end result was a healthier us and as a bonus weight loss!  My daughter has also had the a similar story.  My daughter has thyroid issues and is currently working with Dr. McManus on this as well.  She now has a healthier family as a result because she has learned so much from them and from their nutritionist, Nancy. Two years later, they continue to be a phone call or email away.  The initial cost may be high, but it is the best money you will ever spend.  I can confidently state that I have spent far less on medical expenses in the past two years, that easily made up for the initial cost.

My real reason for writing is my most recent experience.   My 4 year old granddaughter had a stomach virus several weeks ago that she has not been able to shake. She has visited the ER twice in the past four weeks, lost weight and has not been able to eat.   I emailed Dr. McManus on a Friday, knowing they closed early that day and never expecting them to see her. They were amazing.  They stayed late to allow time for them to travel from south of Houston to Spring, evening running to the store to purchase Pedialyte popsicles for my granddaughter.  My daughter and I know they are good, but even this dedication overwhelmed us.

TWIHW, Dr. McManus and staff care about your health. If you listen to them, they will educate you. I remember Dr. McManus saying one time….. “You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make them drink it.”  How true this statement is.  The education will be provided.  If you listen to them and follow, you will be the benefactor.

Thank you, Dr. McManus and staff, you have changed my life.  I am a healthier me, all because you educated and I listened.   My family, one by one, is joining the team…..

Rash disappeared, headaches gone, and Aetna reimbursement!
Dr. McManus,
I have a few updates and I just couldn’t wait until we talk on Thursday. First, I haven’t had a headache since October 18th (Day 10 of the yeast-free program and supplements). Second, the unexplained/undiagnosed rash I’ve had on one side of my neck for almost three years has been gone since October 21st (Day 13) … and I’ve intentionally NOT used the medication prescribed by Dr. (dermatologist) since starting the program on October 9th. Third, I sent a Medical Benefits Request with a copy of my Patient Receipt to Aetna on October 7th and Aetna sent me a check for $2,595 ($95 more than I requested) which I received October 21st! Aetna has not yet responded to my requests for the prescriptions or the allergy testing/drops.
I also wanted to let you know that I really enjoyed my nutritional consultation with Nancy on October 21st! It was informative, motivating and fun.
I still don’t feel much of a change in my energy levels, but I’m hoping that will change once my body gets used to the thyroid supplement (which I only started October 14th) and the allergy drops (which I only started October 18th).
Thanks for everything!
Stacy
Fertility Problems Resolved
Oh Sandra,
Do I have some news for you. Sorry I have not gotten back with you in a while, but things around our house have been a bit overwhelming the past two months. Looks like you can add fertility treatment to your treatment protocol, because I am pregnant after 4 years of trying and 2 years of infertility. A few months with you guys and boom, problem solved.

I have gotten off the progesterone but am still taking everything else, except the zinc, because the prenatal has 25 mg of zinc in it. I am doing fine and all hormone levels look good. Baby Boy is healthy and due in August. I know what a surprise.

By the way, Chad says to tell you thank you for doing what the traditional medical and fertility specialist were not able to do. We know that by getting off all the medications and going all natural not only physically helped me, but helped us to begin our family. Words alone cannot express how indebted we are to you and Dr. McManus.

Thanks,
Amy and Chad

21 year old with Rheumatoid Arthritis
from Ashley
I never imagined the impact this wellness program would have on my life. I was 21 years old and suffering from arthritis, estrogen dominance, seasonal allergies, muscle pain, insomnia, depression, mood swings, trouble losing weight, and severe fatigue. If I felt this bad now, how I would feel in 10-20 years?

After meeting with Dr. McManus, I realized I had hypothyroidism, a condition previous physicians were unable to catch. I also realized the importance of hormones and vitamins in our diets. Most importantly, I understood the effects everyday foods have on our bodies. When asked to eliminate certain carbs from my diet, I was quite hesitant… carbs were my #1 food group. However, I decided to accept the challenge. When I eliminated these carbs, I also eliminated my arthritis, muscle pain, depression, mood swings, fatigue… and I dropped 20 lbs! I feel amazing…better than I ever imagined that I could. Thank you Dr McManus for giving me a new life and hope for a healthy future!!!

Allergy and Biotek Testing
Hi Doctor McManus,
Just wanted you to know how glad I am that I did the Biotek Food Assessment. It has changed my life! I was shocked to say the least at the extent of my food allergies. It made so much sense once I saw the highly reactive foods list – BANANA, BREWER’S YEAST, EGGS, PINEAPPLE (the obvious ones that I already knew were milk, wheat, yogurt, sugar cane). Now I understand the price I will pay if I eat “my poisons”. It did not make any sense that my allergy problems were caused by pollens and environmental alone. Food allergies were the missing link. Of course, the hormones play an important role too and I seem to be doing well on them at the moment. How about that!!

Thanks for your health and wellness program. I have been on it a year now and am feeling so much better than when I began. I joined a fitness facility a few months ago and love it, love it, love it. Even my dog is amazed at my strength!!

See you in the new year. Have a Happy!
Barbara

43 and Normal
Hi Doctor McManus,
By the time I found Dr. McManus, earlier this year, I was getting really scared that something was terribly wrong with me. Over a two year period, I had gone from a healthy, energetic, fairly fit 41-year old woman to a 43-year old person I didn’t recognize. I had gained 30 pounds in spite of dieting and working out. I was tired and lethargic no matter how much rest I got. I started worrying and stressing over trying to get enough sleep so I could function normally in business and with my family. I felt like I was in a trance or fog about half the time. And the migraines…3-4 days every month with no relief. I went to a regular MD, poured my heart out, had all kinds of tests run, and I got a letter in the mail 3 weeks later saying, “Everything is normal, please contact us if you have any problems.” I was devastated, but at the same time, I became determined that I was not going to accept this as the way my life was going to be. My husband, through doing some research, found Dr. McManus. I have a hard time even explaining the dramatic change I felt in the first month after I started seeing Dr. McManus. She knew exactly what needed to be done to change my body. I put my trust in her, and in the process she gave me my quality of life back. The program is so comprehensive with the additional support from Kim and staff. I have a hard time believing there is a more dedicated, knowledgeable, compassionate, professional group anywhere in the country than these three women. Now, about 4 months later, I feel incredible. I have energy, no more headaches, no more brain fog, and I’m down about 15 pounds. My future is bright again and I will forever be grateful to Dr. McManus and her practice.
Kathy
Mind=Body=Soul

Being a big believer in prevention the wellness program really grabbed my interest. Knowing that my body is made of three very distinctive parts, mind, body, and soul, it soon became apparent to me that I was focusing so much attention on my quest for knowledge and wisdom that I was allowing my body to become neglected. Just like a new automobile can have state-of-the-art equipment, we all know that it goes nowhere without fuel. Discovering Dr. McManus’ Wellness Program has become such a blessing to me. I have to be honest that when first starting the program a year ago it sounded too good to be true. Now that I have been active for a year I can testify that my energy level is greater, I haven’t had cold or sinus issues, and I sleep more soundly at night. However, the greatest part of the program is having a doctor that is accessible and holds me accountable. Dr. McManus listens, cares, and provides a personalized program designed just for you. I am very pleased and thankful that I have found this wonderful way to gain good health. My sincerest thanks to all that are involved in such an outstanding program.

Debbie

Never Too Old

Who would have thought that at my age I would have been giving a testimony about a life changing experience? Well I’m living proof that you are never to old to change. My only regret is that I wish that I would have listened to my old uncle who kept telling me to get healthy and my illnesses would disappear. Wow, that sounded so simple. But somehow so profound. I was having migraine headaches almost daily and acid reflux to the point that I was on meds twice daily. I had severe IBS, Asthma, TMJ and major depression. And did I mention just exactly how much money I spent on supplies for all my maladies.

I was hospitalized for medicine overload in my pancreas. When my doctor told me that I had to stop taking so many medications or that I would no longer have a pancreas and without a pancreas I would die, welllll, that is when he and a very close friend of mine referred me to Dr. McManus. I am living proof that without God and Dr. McManus I would not be here to give my testimony. I honestly can say without a doubt that I am “DRUG” free, even my nebulizer, yeah! I have lost so much weight and feel fantastic! I have no symptoms of any of the above mentioned. Who would have thought??? I am a true believer in healthy nutrition and supplements. Thank you so much to the entire staff of The Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness for their terrific support.

Diane

Drug Free and No More Dry Eyes

I feel GREAT! For the past six days I’ve gone drug-free, with only minor symptoms. Could this be the euphoric feeling I’ve been longing for? Since you last emailed me on possible other issues, I’ve incorporated Probotics, Fish Oil & Vitamin E for dry eyes, and I got new lens that fit better on my eyes and are specifically made for dry eyes. I’ve worn my lens for nearly 6 hours each day. But I also have done lawn work, rode in a convertible and walked for miles outside with NO problem. Is this treatment really happening for me? I’m bursting with joy and I can’t contain the victorious feeling I’m having. I’m a little afraid of the next front because usually it brings suffering, but the recent one never gave me a problem. Please tell me I’m on the path to recovery because I have a lot of good news to spread to others.

Happy Gina

Recovery After Breast Cancer

On April 7, 2004 I was told the words so many women of us fear, “You’ve got breast cancer”. Praise God that I am healed, but the road has been long and hard. I did it all: chemo, radiation, bilateral mastectomy and reconstruction. On August 29th I had my last reconstruction surgery. During chemo I gained about 7 pounds, and after chemo I added on another 7. Chemo puts you into menopause, and tamoxifen helps keep you there. By October, 2005 I was physically exhausted and depressed, using all my available will power just to take care of my 4 kids. The thought “I am so tired” permeated my life. The hot flashes were debilitating – one per hour, 24 hours a day. It felt like someone was sucking the energy out of me with every hot flash! I tried every medicine that my oncologist recommended for hot flashes, and ended up on a synthetic progesterone. After researching that drug, I decided that natural progesterone was the better alternative. I found Dr. McManus and talked with her about my health issues, and my fear of hormones because of my breast cancer. I was also having several surgeries and Dr. McManus helped me adjust medications so that the side effects of the antibiotics and the stress on my body have been minimized. My recovery after each surgery has been amazingly fast, which has been a real blessing. I am taking a low dose of progesterone to help with the hot flashes and menopause. This summer I was swimming 1 mile 3 times a week, walking a mile every day, and doing Pilates. I am now walking about 3 miles a day since I can’t swim for a few weeks due to my surgery, and I went to Pilates this week! I have also lost about 7 pounds and I feel great. Now, if I could only stay on a consistent low carb, low sugar diet! Even though I know that I feel best on that diet, I get lazy and go back to old habits. One day at a time…
Jana
BC/BS Reimbursement
Hi Mila,
Just wanted you to know that I’m feeling much perkier day by day. And MUCH more optimistic, less depressed (in fact, not depressed at all). Wow!

Another HUGE thing – Blue Cross, Blue Shield covered all the bill except for $634.00!!! YIPPEE!

This is so great – to feel that I’m feeling better (what a difference, too). I could hug you right now!!

Janis

Exuberance for Life Restored
Dear Dr. McManus,
Thank you for giving me back my exuberance for life. My family members noticed a difference in me after just a few days, and my friends are starting to make comments that something is different after only a couple of weeks. I am in my fifties and feel better than I did at thirty. After a full day of work today, I actually took my 3-year–old nephew on an outing instead of falling nearly comatose into bed.

I have witnessed amazing improvements in my ability to think clearly, in the severity and frequency of headaches, in my energy levels, in my physical stamina and endurance, and in the joint pain that I have had for many years. I have completely stopped taking the arthritis medication that I was on for years without relief. I know that I am using healthier alternatives now, and they really work. No longer do I believe that the symptoms I used to have are a necessary part of aging. I feel that I will be able to contribute to our society for many more years, and that is a wonderful feeling to have after the many times that I have worried that I might need to give up my career.

I am very fortunate indeed to have found you and your innovative wellness program.

Thanks,
Kathy

Help with Hashimoto's Hypothyroidism
Dear Dr. McManus,
I still can’t believe how good I feel. I was diagnosed w/ hashimoto’s hypothyroidism nearly 4 years ago. The treatment (synthroid) resolved many of my problems including weight gain, hair loss and suddenly abnormal periods, but I continued to suffer from fatigue & lack of concentration for years. I decided to endure the detox program in hopes that I would regain my energy and concentration. I say “endure” because I have always loved to eat, or “I lived to eat” so they say. Detox was amazingly tolerable. In fact, because I saw results (weight loss and dramatically improved energy) so quickly, I was motivated to continue. My family and friends noticed too and they all started the program and are seeing similar results. The meals were tasty too and I didn’t have to alter all that much. I continued to eat out and when I cooked at home, the meals were still simple and speedy which is important since I am a working mother. I’m on my 3rd month post program and I’ve managed to keep the weight off and am as energetic as I was when I was nesting just prior to the birth of my children. I maintain many of the habits I developed on the program; I now “eat to live”. Last month however, I noticed my hair started falling out again and I was beginning to have heart palpitations. After reviewing my bloodwork, my endocrinologist said that since my labs were within range, she would not recommend “fixing what isn’t broken”. I argued something was indeed broken. She said I should see a cardiologist about my heart palpitations and there are many explanations for sudden hair loss on which she wouldn’t elaborate. So, I checked in with Dr. McManus who explained that lab results don’t tell the whole story and that my symptoms were consistent with hyperthyroidism. She suggested taking a lower dose of thyroid medication which I followed and I’m already feeling better. Dr. McManus has made so many of my friends and family and me feel like we’ve reached the maximum potential of health. I’m just regretful that I didn’t start the program sooner! Thank you so much for your time and dedication.
Kelly
Help with Hashimoto's Hypothyroidism
Dear Dr. McManus,
I still can’t believe how good I feel. I was diagnosed w/ hashimoto’s hypothyroidism nearly 4 years ago. The treatment (synthroid) resolved many of my problems including weight gain, hair loss and suddenly abnormal periods, but I continued to suffer from fatigue & lack of concentration for years. I decided to endure the detox program in hopes that I would regain my energy and concentration. I say “endure” because I have always loved to eat, or “I lived to eat” so they say. Detox was amazingly tolerable. In fact, because I saw results (weight loss and dramatically improved energy) so quickly, I was motivated to continue. My family and friends noticed too and they all started the program and are seeing similar results. The meals were tasty too and I didn’t have to alter all that much. I continued to eat out and when I cooked at home, the meals were still simple and speedy which is important since I am a working mother. I’m on my 3rd month post program and I’ve managed to keep the weight off and am as energetic as I was when I was nesting just prior to the birth of my children. I maintain many of the habits I developed on the program; I now “eat to live”. Last month however, I noticed my hair started falling out again and I was beginning to have heart palpitations. After reviewing my bloodwork, my endocrinologist said that since my labs were within range, she would not recommend “fixing what isn’t broken”. I argued something was indeed broken. She said I should see a cardiologist about my heart palpitations and there are many explanations for sudden hair loss on which she wouldn’t elaborate. So, I checked in with Dr. McManus who explained that lab results don’t tell the whole story and that my symptoms were consistent with hyperthyroidism. She suggested taking a lower dose of thyroid medication which I followed and I’m already feeling better. Dr. McManus has made so many of my friends and family and me feel like we’ve reached the maximum potential of health. I’m just regretful that I didn’t start the program sooner! Thank you so much for your time and dedication.
Kelly
Appreciation for a Doctor Who Listens!
I have always worked diligently at maintaining a healthy diet and exercise program. I was always up on the latest in supplements and health trends. I was even certified to educate and guide others to obtain their fitness and nutrition goals. So why, with all of this knowledge and commitment to health and only approaching age 40, did I feel so awful. I had progressively worsened after the birth of my second child. I had fatigue, moodiness, brain fog, depression, thinning hair, IBS, fibromyalgia, hypoglycemia, heavy bleeding, migraines, joint pain, diminished sex drive, and well, the list could go on infinitely but I have chosen to focus on the few that were beginning to take over my life. I sought help from physicians who only said…

“Honey, you are just in peri-menopause”. A doctor even said “You are just a type A personality and expect perfection from yourself”. Others said “Here is a brochure that explains it all- you just need to take an anti-depressant, that should help with the moodiness and depression”. This type of response led me down a path with several doctors who only offered a pill….. a pharmaceutical! After several years of this and deciding that I truly was feeling worse and not better- and after adding the 10+ lbs I had mysteriously gained, I stopped all medications and trudged on in hopes that I could at least get back to the not so bad feeling that I felt before the pills! Maybe I was expecting too much for my age (40)? I then had the fortunate experience of meeting Dr. Mila McManus and could not believe the information that I had read in her brochures that very first day….could this be true? Could someone really identify all of these life changing symptoms so easily?…. Well that is where we began my treatment and I must confess I think I have been a tough nut to crack but I have worked closely with her for over a year and we have finally found the right combination of diet and hormone therapy that suits me perfectly. The program is not one size fits all and yes, medicine is an art! She is an amazing doctor who has given my future back to me. I had the opportunity to compete in the Mrs. Texas pageant a while back and, although I did not win, it was a great experience that I really struggled to accomplish. After a year in the program another opportunity was given to compete at my first national pageant for United States Mrs. 2006 – and I won! I had confidence, clarity, and amazing vitality and energy and the judges saw that! Thank you from the bottom of my heart, Dr. McManus- YES we can seek perfection!

Much love and many blessings to you and your amazing staff!
Melissa, CPT Mrs. United States 2006

Blood Pressure and Cholesterol to Brag About
January 2006 held promises of a wonderful new year, however I physically felt horrible everyday. Like many people I made my new year’s resolutions, but I felt so lethargic that I couldn’t even muster up energy to think about feeling better. I was tired and sluggish, felt bloated much of the time, had indigestion a couple of times a week and I felt like I lived and moved in slow motion.

Finally, in mid-March I made the decision to take control of my life and not just be an observer, live in discomfort or be older that I already am! My first visit with Dr. McManus was such a relief and filled me with hope. I gained confidence that day that I didn’t have to live in slow gear or feel bad anymore and that I was not alone in making changes and moving forward with new ways of living my life.

Unlike some, I was not taking any medications, vitamins or supplements before my first visit with Dr. McManus. You can imagine what a change it was for me to swallow a jillion pills twice a day! Yikes! I was a bit anxious about being faithful to that part of my life changes. Then, there was the Yeast-free diet! What was interesting was that I was more concerned about taking so many pills than I was about not eating bread! That was a shock, since I love bread so much. But, I knew that every time I would eat something not on the Yeast-free eating program I would feel bad…I didn’t want to feel bad anymore. It took a couple of weeks for me to connect all the dots…vitamins, supplements and thyroid pills to a new way of eating to exercise. But, that was such a crucial shift for me. I was now living and thinking holistically making the body, mind and spirit connections that made the difference in my life.

Now seven months later my blood pressure is something to brag about, my cholesterol has dropped 30 something points, I have lost 30 pounds and my energy and enthusiasm is over flowing. I know that I have a great team that is walking through this time with me. One of the best decisions that I have ever made was to contact Dr. McManus and to actually step into the new way of living that she offered to me. Many thanks to Kim and the medical staff for giving me the tools and encouragement for the journey.

Rev. Mary

Rick's Journey at 50
My name is Rick and I would like to share a few thoughts regarding my experience with the program at The Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness. First and foremost, I want to thank my wife Mary for the research and encouragement that led us to join this program.

Over the years, I have tried, and failed, at virtually all attempts to improve my overall health. With this program of medical monitoring, genuine healthy eating habits, and importance of physical training, I have found a balanced approach I can incorporate into my lifestyle.

Although I have only been in the program for a couple months, I feel better and stronger at 50, than I did when I was 40. I can honestly say this is due to two foundational perspectives.

First, I must be realistic regarding my expectations. I have strong memories of how I looked and felt at 20 years old, but must accept I am at a different stage in my life. I need to give myself credit for success, regardless of how small it may be.

Second, it took years of stressful work and unhealthy habits to produce my current condition. Therefore, I must expect this physical improvement to be a work in process for years to come. For me, it is a journey, not a quick fix.

The bottom line is this, at my age and condition, I realize I will feel better or worse, but I will not stay the same. I choose to feel better; for myself, for my family, and my friends. This program has given me the tools to achieve this.

Thank you,
Rick

%d bloggers like this: